Fever at Dawn

In this improbably joyous novel about two recovering concentration camp survivors, love is the best medicine.

Fever at Dawn

"Fever at Dawn has the sweetness of The Rosie Project and the pathos of The Fault in Our Stars . . . A book to fall in love with." --Herald Sun "A riveting and high-spirited journey from the brink of death toward life . . . G�rdos illuminates the incredible power of the human will." --Julie Orringer It's 1945 and Miklos is looking for a wife. The fact that he has six months left to live doesn't discourage him--he isn't one to let small problems like that stand in the way, especially not after he's survived the camps. Currently marooned in an all-male sanatorium in Sweden, and desperate to get out, he acquires the names of the 117 Hungarian women also recovering in Sweden and writes each of them a letter in his beautiful cursive hand. Luckily for him, Lili decides to write back. Drawn from the real-life letters of P�ter G�rdos's parents, and reminiscent of the film Life Is Beautiful, Fever at Dawn is a vibrant, ribald, and unforgettable tale, showing the death-defying power of the human will to live and to love.

More Books:

Fever at Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Peter Gardos
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-18 - Publisher: Mariner Books

"Fever at Dawn has the sweetness of The Rosie Project and the pathos of The Fault in Our Stars . . . A book to fall in love with." --Herald Sun "A riveting and high-spirited journey from the brink of death toward life . . . G�rdos illuminates the incredible
Fever at Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Peter Gardos
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-07 - Publisher: Random House

An uplifting true story of finding love after the horrors of war. For fans of THE TATTOIST OF AUSCHWITZ, SCHINDLER'S LIST and THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS 'Dramatic, compassionate and deeply moving.' Jennifer Clement, author of award-winning novel PRAYERS FOR THE STOLEN It's 1945, and Miklos is looking for
Fever at Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 242
Authors: Péter Gárdos
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-12 - Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

After World War II, two concentration camp survivors begin a battle for love in this heartwarming, historical novel based on a true story. It’s 1945, and Miklós is looking for a wife. The fact that he has six months left to live doesn’t discourage him—he isn’t one to let small
Dear America: Cannons at Dawn
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Kristiana Gregory
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-01 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Kristiana Gregory returns with a stunning new sequel to the bestselling Dear America title THE WINTER OF RED SNOW! Abigail Jane Stewart returns in this brand-new sequel to THE WINTER OF RED SNOW. The Revolutionary War toils on, but the Stewart family can no longer avoid getting involved. Abby's father
Publications of the Historical Society of Southern California
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Kristiana Gregory
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1891 - Publisher:

Books about Publications of the Historical Society of Southern California