Shadows Over Paradise

Shadows Over Paradise

For readers of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford comes a captivating novel of two very different women, struggling to come to terms with the ghosts from their past—by the internationally bestselling author of A Vintage Affair and The Very Picture of You Sometimes the only way forward is through the past. Jenni Clark is a ghostwriter. She loves to immerse herself in other people’s stories—a respite from her own life, and from a relationship that appears to be nearing its end. Jenni’s latest assignment takes her to a coastal hamlet in England, where she’s agreed to pen the memoir of an elderly farm owner named Klara. Jenni assumes the project will be easy: a quiet, ordinary tale of a life well lived. But Klara’s story is far from quiet. She recounts the tale of a family torn apart by World War II, and of disgraceful acts committed against a community in the Japanese prison camps on the Pacific island paradise of Java. As harrowing details emerge and stunning truths come to light, Jenni is compelled to confront a secret she’s spent a lifetime burying. Weaving together the lives of two very different women, Isabel Wolff has created a captivating novel of love, loss, and hope that reaches across generations. Praise for Shadows Over Paradise “An excellent choice for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton.”—Booklist “Shifting focus from the present to the past with ease, this novel brings to the page the reality of the horrors of the Japanese-run internment camps in vivid and gory detail. Wolff’s latest will please fans of women’s stories that include a realistic depiction of life during wartime and the ability to overcome adversity.”—Library Journal “Beautifully written . . . an outstanding book club selection . . . If you liked Jamie Ford’s novels [then] you’ll like Shadows Over Paradise.”—Huntington News

More Books:

Shadows Over Paradise
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Isabel Wolff
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-10 - Publisher: Bantam

For readers of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford comes a captivating novel of two very different women, struggling to come to terms with the ghosts from their past—by the internationally bestselling author of A Vintage Affair and The Very Picture of You Sometimes the only way forward is through the
Shadows Over Paradise
Language: en
Pages: 181
Authors: Hope Goodwin
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1987 - Publisher: Doubleday Books

This intriguing romantic mystery is set on the exotic isle of Jamaica
Shadows Over Paradise
Language: en
Pages: 360
Authors: Isabel Wolff
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015 - Publisher: Bantam

When Jenni Clark, a young ghostwriter, agrees to pen the memoir of an elderly farm owner, she is drawn into the story of a family ripped apart by life in the internment camps of Java during World War II, which forces her to face her own ghosts to finally make
Shroud Over Paradise
Language: en
Pages: 492
Authors: G. J. Giddy
Categories: Australian fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010 - Publisher: Lulu.com

A young English girl arrives in Australia searching for her birth mother. Her initial investigations indicate she has to wait six months atleast on what may have happened to her mother. Finding the weather too cold for her liking in the New South Wales town of Goulburn, she heads north
In the Land of Silence: Learning with my Master
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Mario Mantese
Categories: Australian fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

In this autobiographical novel Mario Mantese depicts the fateful encounter with a spiritual master in the Himalaya. As he approaches this liberated universal master and is confronted with his unorthodox methods and teachings, the traveler plummets into a deep crisis, a destabilizing of everything he had thought and felt before.